PDA

View Full Version : New Contest


writer0825
10-11-2006, 09:26 PM
Well, I've never heard of it anyway. Did anyone else get an email from these people and their contest? Thoughts? Thanks!

http://www.studioreaders.com/

Hamletta
10-12-2006, 01:20 AM
Do I read it correctly that the deadline is 31 Dec, and they want to announce winners on Jan. 22? How many scripts do they expect -- 10? :confused:

scriptwriterNYC
10-12-2006, 10:31 AM
I'm suspicious, since there's absolutely no information about who the folks are who run this contest. Anybody could start a website and claim to be "studio readers," make themselves sound extremely selective, and then start a contest. With most other contests and script coverage services, you get at least a hint of wtf is running the show, at least SOME credentials! Not in this case....no list of which "studios" they claim to read for, or what their past experience/background is.

I would never send one of my scripts to such anonymous recipients who apparently don't want to disclose sh!t about themselves, for a contest or any other services....yet they deem it's perfectly fine to ask for your money! Based on what???

And I don't understand writers who will send their work off to just anybody who sets-up a website, without knowing diddledysquat about them!

cyberian exile
10-12-2006, 11:44 AM
A quick "Whois" search reveals them to be based out of Bellevue, Washington. An area that's really hopping with "studio readers."

Everything about them smells off. I wouldn't be surprised if they're related to one of those famous scams such as The Screenplay Agency, and have decided to branch out into contests.

writer0825
10-12-2006, 12:42 PM
Yeah, I totally agree with all of you. It seemed suspicious to me too that's why I was asking everyone elses thoughts and was curious if anyone else had gotten an email from these people. I too was curious how they got my email? Ok, in this day and age, maybe not such a miracle, just made me wonder. I'm wondering if they were somehow involved in something I DID actually enter and have branched out from that organization on their own? Oh well, soon as I saw their site, it felt like a "pass" to me. :p

scriptwriterNYC
10-12-2006, 12:49 PM
I too was curious how they got my email? Ok, in this day and age, maybe not such a miracle, just made me wonder.

I wonder if your email is listed on the site of that prestigious contest that you DID place highly in, and that's how they found it? Or they requested your contact info from that contest's organizers, pretending to be somebody they aren't? I wouldn't put it past such scammers. Because I highly doubt these people are offshoots of any legit competition.

ylekot43
10-12-2006, 12:56 PM
The sad pat is that even only ten people fall for it, the scam generates 500 dollars in revenue.

Jakkal
10-12-2006, 01:07 PM
Well, considering the websites for "The Screenplay Agency" and "Studio Readers" have exactly the same layout....

http://www.thescreenplayagency.com/

http://www.studioreaders.com/

Yeah, I'd steer clear of them...

writer0825
10-12-2006, 01:14 PM
Anyone ever dealt with anyone named Blake Allen or Sara Wells? Those are the people under the "contact" section of "studio readers."

scriptwriterNYC
10-12-2006, 01:20 PM
"Blake Allen" :rolling:

The dude probably thought that was Hollywood-sounding. Not!!!

cyberian exile
10-12-2006, 01:57 PM
Why, sure it is. It's the name of Robert Downey Jr.'s character from Two Girls and a Guy.

scriptwriterNYC
10-12-2006, 02:13 PM
Is it really? :rolling:

Great film!

Hamletta
10-13-2006, 09:00 AM
Notice the nice link column on the left -- you'd think they are all endorsing the Studio Readers...

scriptwriterNYC
10-13-2006, 09:20 AM
To me, the following from their website is another red flag:

Script Coverage, Editing & Synopsis Services *
Price: $1500.00

*Requires Client to provide a word document of the script for editing.


If they are such busy and successful "studio readers" as they claim, it seems to me they'd have access to Final Draft and MM, yet they require that all scripts be sent as a WORD document.

And they don't list a mailing address, but want the script e-mailed as an attachment.

DMNY
10-13-2006, 10:10 AM
And
http://www.studioreaders.com/qa.html

What is the difference between a liteary agent, manager and production agent?

Liteary agent?

ylekot43
10-13-2006, 02:47 PM
If nothing else, Done Deal has a lot of value in weeding out the shady contests, managers, and agents. :)