PDA

View Full Version : New Zealand and Australian Screenwriters

curious
03-10-2005, 05:30 PM
Are there any screenwriters in New Zealand and Australia on this message board? If so...

How did you get into the industry and what did you study at university/polytechnic/other?
Have you made any script sales yet and how long did that first one take?
What sort of difficulties have you had living so far from Hollywood?
What is the state of Screenwriting in these countries?
Would you shift to LA?

It would be really good to hear some successful and non-successful stories from you. Feel free not to stick to just these questions.

phoenixwriting
03-11-2005, 07:47 AM
G'day.

How did you get into the industry and what did you study at university/polytechnic/other?

I'm not in the industry... not yet, at any rate. But I've been writing in various forms all my life. A few years ago, my wife suggested I try writing a screenplay... and I haven't been able to look back.

I studied art education (practical and theoretical) for a couple of years majoring in sculpture (with an arc welder). Then I swapped over and got a degree in information technology. Not a film-related subject in sight... oh hang on, we did shoot a short film in my second year IM tech class. I was the incompetent sword-wielding mugger who gets clobbered by a pool cue. And I edited it... and wrote most of the script. Should have known then where I was headed.

No, although I did have a short script optioned. That didn't take too long.

What sort of difficulties have you had living so far from Hollywood?

None yet, although the better I get the more frustrated I'm sure I'll be with the distance thing.

We don't have as many screenwriters, percentage wise, as the US... but then again, no one does. Still, I've been able to bump into quite a few fellow Aussies who were either writers or running their own indie companies.