PDA

View Full Version : Is Living in Lake Arrowhead a Viable Option?

bewareofdog
08-28-2004, 01:50 AM
Has anyone out there tried living in Lake Arrowhead or any of the affordable rural areas just outside of Los Angeles? As a newbie feature writer I'm not taking a lot of pitch meetings (like, none) so what are the advantages of an LA zip code? Is it worth the possible-Hollywood-connections I might make working at Blockbuster Video to finance $10,000 in rent over the next year while I finish my script? :\

JoanEasley
08-28-2004, 11:12 AM
I lived in Ventura my first year in CA, but I made a point to drive in to LA for writing groups, speaker presentations etc. to meet people. It was close enough to do that, and certainly close enough to come in for any agent or producer meetings.

Obviously, you meet more people if you get an actual job in the industry, but the lower level jobs you can probably get won't pay well. It's a trade-off.

If you do move to the outlying areas, some writers suggest getting a 310 cell phone to avoid disdainful comments about area codes the studio people have never heard of.

Minibrain
08-28-2004, 11:16 AM
There was a time when you could make a fair number of Hollywood connections hanging out at the Jensen's in Blue Jay....

(which is a town near Lake Arrowhead, for those of you unfamiliar with the SoCal mountain scene....)

The problem now is that with the lake so low and the recent fire damage, I'm not sure Arrowhead is quite the place it used to be even a few years ago.

About two years ago, at the grocery store right near the Arrowhead lake shopping center, I was shopping with a well-known Oscar winning writer when the clerk made some remark about a current movie being made by Disney. My friend corrected him, saying that no, the movie in question was made by Dreamworks. And the clerk said okay, but Dreamworks is owned by Disney. My friend said no, it's not, it's a different company. And the clerk wouldn't back down.