PDA

View Full Version : Offer for script...which option is best?

CLB44
11-07-2004, 06:32 PM
A script I recently submitted (as a bet) was requested by an entertainment company. After reviewing it, I received a message that they want to make me an offer. I am TOTALLY new to all this. I was told that I need to get an entertainment attorney and that I should negotiate a price to just "sell" the script...versus negotiating to get involved in story development, shopping it around to networks, etc.

Anyone been here before?

MacG
11-07-2004, 08:18 PM
First, congratulations. Sounds like this bet is turning into a real winner for you!

Second, what do you mean "shopping it around to networks?" Did you mean to say "studios"?

Bottom line, get on the phone ASAP and get yourself a reputanbe ent. attorney to help nagivate the waters. If you don't know of any, the people at the production company -- if they're stand-up fellas / gals, and serious about a good deal for them and you -- should be able to give you a name and point you in the right direction.

The points of your contract should cover all the basics -- payment to you, number of rewrites / polishes you'll have a crack at, etc.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but your "...negotiating to get involved in story development" statement sounds as though your angling for some sort of producing credit. True? If so, that's understandable...but probably not going to happen. Especially since you're a newbie.

The production company liked your script and wants to see it made...but they probably don't want you as a writer trying to insert yourself TOO heavily into the creative process, i.e. cast, directors, etc. Those finally decisions usually end up in the hands of the financing studio, anyway, as a means to protect their investment in the production.

So by all means ask if you feel bold enough...just don't make it a make-or-break facet of the arrangement.

Keep us posted on what happens!

-M :hat

BROUGHCUT
11-07-2004, 08:58 PM