PDA

View Full Version : Breaking in to Hollywood... from Australia!

The Amazing J
10-06-2004, 06:27 PM
Hi guys (and girls)!

This is my first post here so be gentle!

I have been writing for a few years (a bunch of shorts and two features done) all while being buried in an unrelated 50 hour-a-week job. That is in the process of changing now, so it's about time I got this career off the ground.

The only thing is I have NO contacts and, more problematically, live in Melbourne, Australia. Research has shown me there appear to be ZERO agents here who will rep screenwriters, so I am forced to go overseas.

What I really want to know is if there are other non-US writers out there who have got a foot in the door and if so, what worked for them?

Thanks for your time.

J.

JustinoIV
10-07-2004, 08:13 AM
Well, the mainstream industry is only going to be interested in features, so start expanding those shorts into features.

There have been plenty of non US people who hade made it in all aspects of the US film industry. Most of them moved here to make it in said industry.

The Amazing J
10-11-2004, 06:10 AM
Thanks, Justino!

No-one else out there got any sage advice?

J.

Leech
10-11-2004, 11:22 AM
The Amazing J -

I think the thread entitled: How Can You Pitch If You Live In The UK, will be helpful for you.

Here's the link:

p068.ezboard.com/fdonedea...1537.topic (http://p068.ezboard.com/fdonedealquestionsandadvice.showMessage?topicID=15 37.topic)

newieboy
10-11-2004, 05:21 PM