PDA

View Full Version : What's the best day job for Writers?

bewareofdog
08-08-2004, 05:08 PM
I'm a newbie Screenwriter, so please forgive if this is an obivous question, but, is it better to support oneself working as an assistant or receptionist in the entertaiment field than say, Coffee Bean or extras work? Or would Production Assistant lead to anything?

I'm guessing that a receptionist at ICM talks to tons of industry people each day. However, does anyone know or even CARE about his/her writing talents? And don't assistants work long hours for little pay?

Coffee Bean or extras work probably pays more and it seems like you'd have more free time to write.

Additionally, I've heard that P.A. work is degrading and back-breaking, but wouldn't one make lots of director/producer contacts this way?

Please share your day job experiences, mistakes, etc., as I'm really desperate for advice! I'm 32 years old and can't afford to waste a year or two in a total deadend.
Gia

Hamboogul
08-08-2004, 05:20 PM
For some reason, many people think that the best way to break into the industry is by taking low level jobs as P.A.s and such.

BTW, to become an agent's assistant usually requires 3 years of mailroom duties and when an assistant spot opens up, you have to interview, along with other mailroom clerks, for that slot. So getting an agent's assistant job is difficult.

I know lots of people who work as writer's assistant on shows or as P.A. And I know many who do nothing all day. Really the best way to break in is pursue an opportunity that would afford you the time to write. Because ultimately the best script that you can write will be the thing that will open doors for you.

jimjimgrande
08-08-2004, 06:47 PM
I agree with Ham that the job that pays your bills AND fits your writing schedule is the one to get - industry or not.