PDA

View Full Version : Querying agents about TV material

March Or Die
08-23-2004, 05:18 PM
Hi all,

I’m a new writer looking for representation. My initial plan was to look for TV work while I finish my first feature script. To that end, I’ve written two spec samples (for prime-time TV dramas). I also have some nonfiction publication credits (trade press, but still paid). My resume is basic business professional, but I have no entertainment industry experience.

That said, when I query agents with my TV samples:

Should my initial query package contain just a letter? Or should I throw in my bio/pub sheet? How about synopses of either or both of my spec scripts?

My gut is that the query letter itself can't read like a film query, with the hook first ("Dear Agent, An alien mutant clone tracks down Jack Bauer inside Fort Knox..."). Do I play it straight and boring by saying I want a rep, will write anything, and here's a script summary? And do I avoid the phrase "staff job"?

Also, should the 1-paragraph summaries of my specs be teases (describing the story but hiding the specific outcome), or tell-alls? My first instinct is to tease in order to pique interest, but I'm not sure if it will arouse or merely irritate.

Similarly, should my 1-page synopses be teases or tell-alls?

Finally, are agents and execs like consumers, where the advertising maxim is that they don't respond until they've been exposed to the product between 3 and 7 times? I'm comfortable sending out different query packages if it's a war of attrition, but if I get only one shot at the TV apple, I want to get it right.

Many questions, based on much ignorance. Any feedback will be helpful.

jimjimgrande
08-23-2004, 09:29 PM
your letter should be about selling yourself as a writer. I would not recommend including teases or synopsis of your scripts and especially not the scripts themselves.

Say who you are - what you've accomplished, what specs you've written. Chances are that you will get ignored.