PDA

View Full Version : College major

tsall
08-04-2004, 03:55 AM
Hey, I'm an upcoming college freshman who is interested in getting into the film industry. I've been in love with film since I was a kid and I have been writing my own stories and story ideas for quite some time. I'm curious as to whether or not it would be the best decision to get a degree in film at my school or go for an alternative major. Going with the alternative major seems more logical to me because I'd be more likely to get a job and I wouldn't be working as a waiter until I got my "big break" or whatever. I may be wrong there, and if I am then please correct me. Would it be better to have a safe degree, although not quite as enjoyable and do my passion on the side... or would that just distract from my actual work that I wanna do. I've thought that I might end up just becoming too used to my job routine and not ever fulfill my dream of becoming involved in film, whether in screenwriting or other endevours... and that really scares me.

Any advice is much appreciated

Thanks,

Tim

Sledgeh101
08-04-2004, 07:33 AM
There are other people who might disagree with me - and they might be right, this is only my opinion - but if you know you love movies and you love writing, then you should major in what you love.