PDA

View Full Version : Selling movie rights of a book

theperfectpitch
07-21-2004, 03:51 AM
If a production co. is interested in buying or optioning
the movie rights to a book, does the author have to
present it to them as a screenplay or as the book itself??

Does the author have to sell the rights to a scriptwriter in
order to have it script-ready and if so who benefits more
from selling the rights, the author or scriptwriter??
That is, if I understand the process correctly.

Also, do possible future sales from dvd's, video games, etc. based on the book and consequently, the film, need to
be figured into the movie rights deal or are those not a part
of movie rights??

I'm an author of a recently-released book which is already
getting more attention from readers and interest from people in the movie business as one worthy of making into either a feature film or cable channel movie.

matt black biker man
07-21-2004, 05:24 AM
anyone can buy the rights to your book be they a screenwriter or a production company. It just depends on who wants it and how many offers you have. Better for you that they are a company of course because you know they'll have money. However, that is all they are buying, the rights to make a movie based on your book, they don't have to employ you as screenwriter but of course it is advantageous to you that they do.

If you have an agent, let them do the deal (obviously) but make sure you get points on everything including DVD rentals and merchandising.

I would also ensure that you get the final fee for the rights tied in with the eventual budget rather than accepting a flat fee. Between 1% and 6% depending on who wants it with a suitable base line of course.

pnugentr
07-21-2004, 10:44 AM