PDA

View Full Version : Will I be successful if...

Bazmalti
06-27-2004, 12:11 PM
Hey,

I've been writing specifically for screen for four years now and have so far had no success (signed with an agent a couple years ago, but let it go after a few months)... I didn't really stick with it as I was more into directing.

I now have 2 short films under my belt, an extreme sports dvd (that's on sale in shops in the UK and on the internet worldwide), 2 feature scripts and shortly a follow up to the first extreme sports dvd (currently in production). I'm totally interested in feature directing... Now, will I have success if I high tale it to LA with my arsenal and distribute my work? I've already had two very well known agencies (equal credibility of CAA, UTA etc.) ask for both my short films, I've been a bit slow on submitting because I'm still trying to get them p-e-r-f-e-c-t (colour correction, spot on editing, reshooting a few shots etc.). My question is this:

Will I get work as a director based on these two short films alone? Assuming they are very high quality (Two of my university lecturers were very impressed with them).

I know, beyond all doubt that this is what I'm aiming for as a living, just need to know if this is a good approach? I should enter into competitions to get exposure, but I just want to go straight for the people that matter!

Thanks for any advice you guys can give. I AM still writing so I haven't given up there... My goal is actually to be a writer/director.

Thanks

Andrew.

jimjimgrande
06-27-2004, 04:19 PM
I've already had two very well known agencies (equal credibility of CAA, UTA

which means either ICM, WMA, Endeavor? Hard to keep secrets around here if you give us so many clues.