PDA

View Full Version : Question about copywrite

Stulos
06-09-2004, 05:30 AM
I recently got an idea from an existing movie for another movie. The idea came from a section where the character in the film, who is a writer, describes a story that he has written. He doesn't mention any of the characters just gives an overall idea for the plot..

My question, is this copyrighted if I take the idea for a story. I know you cant copyrite an idea but I also know that you cant make a derivative of a story...is this considered a derivative.

Your expertise is greatly appreciated. Thank you for your time everyone.

ABZ18
06-09-2004, 07:06 AM
Hi Stulos,

I'm by no means an expert but I think that the characters, settings and other details of the screenpaly itself can make the story (or logline) significantly different. Ideas come and go but to actually write the whole screenplay, that the camel right there. Unless you're talking some kind of high concept idea (Martian lawyer takes on Barbarella for indecenty...yeah right.)

I don't think it would be considered derivative. From you question I'm assuming that the story line was given in the vaguest of descriptions. To me it's called getting inspired.

I hope I haven't confused you.

Aliza

Stulos
06-09-2004, 03:32 PM
Well, its sort of a high concept idea, I guess, if I understand what that means...let me give you an example of it. Im kinda nervous about giving the actual idea because Im new to this and don't know the rules. So for example:

The character in the movie, describing a book they have written, says to another character. "There is a fairy who talks to monkeys. She doesn't really want to talk to monkeys so she decides to get rid of them and lives a much more fulfilled life."

I don't know if that is considered high concept or not.

Disclaimer......that is NOT the story I am thinking about writing :)

Buzz74
06-09-2004, 10:10 PM
Whether or not you get busted it's pretty lame to poach ideas from other movies.