PDA

View Full Version : "Writer" v. "Aspiring Writer"

Boobsie Malone
06-12-2004, 07:24 PM
I've been advised to introduce myself as a "Writer" rather than the apologetic "I'm *trying* to be a writer." or "I'm an aspiring writer."

But I've found, more often than not, when I have the confidence to say "I'm a writer," the next question posed to me is "Really? Have you written anything I might have heard of?"

That's where I sort of mumble about the specs I've written for various shows and admit that I'm an aspiring.

So, really, I find it much easier to just say: "I'm an aspiring writer."

I know we had a big long thread about this about two years ago. And two years ago, I believed that we aspirings should always state that we are, in fact, aspirings. Yet, I'm getting this advice from people whom I respect a great deal.

So, what say the masses?

freebaser14
06-12-2004, 07:42 PM
I tell civilians that I'm a "repped but unsold writer". Which of course means absolutely nothing and that I'm still broke... But the "title" is so confusing to them, they mostly don't want to bother figuring out what it means, so they back off with the questions. And besides, it's just too difficult to explain everything.

Thank god I don't live in L.A. :lol

But ultimately, we are writers. We write. F%&! a bunch a of questions. You're a writer. You don't aspire to write every day. I mean, you write. There you go.

XL
06-12-2004, 07:47 PM
well you either write or you don't... an aspiring writer is someone who aspires to one day begin writing. usually they don't.

i aspire to be a successful writer, one who writes every day and loves it, but imho as long as i am writing then i am a writer.

I too get the "Really? Have you written anything I might have heard of?" comment. I tend to reply with "Not yet" and a smile.