PDA

View Full Version : attached to direct your own screenplay???

Mister Rainwater
05-31-2004, 04:21 PM
I am currently writing my first feature-length screenplay, which is a high concept sci-fi drama. My only problem is that I’m 22 years-old and considered to be just a child in this business. My real passion is directing and I am determined to stay attached as director to this script, since I believe it will launch my career as a serious filmmaker.

I have been developing this sci-fi story for 7 years now and have just finalized it to my liking. I’m also creating concept art for the project so I can show its potential.

Considering the genre, the budget would most likely exceed $70 million. The story is very original and has a twist ending that can compete with the original Planet of the Apes. But if an A-list director became interested, what would be the odds of this 22 year-old first time writer-director landing the job?

This is a project that is very dear to me, but I am really concerned about being overlooked because of my age. Producers may think that I'm in way over my head, but I just can’t help my mentality, which is to "think big." I don’t have an agent nor a lawyer, but I will be needing one soon.

Should I come back to earth on this one or do I actually have a chance?

To see my credentials, you can visit my website: www.meetervision.com (http://www.meetervision.com)

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Josh

creativexec
05-31-2004, 04:42 PM
I'm not saying it can't happen but it probably
won't.

Although it seems you have some cute (but
hardly impressive) credits, a 70 million dollar
budget is a lot of cash to put into the hands
of a first time director. Why should anyone
invest their money in you? (Hollywood has
proven countless times that someone other
than the writer can turn the script into a
great film.)

Your attachment as a director will hinder
the project the whole way. For instance,
most agents won't go near the script if