PDA

View Full Version : How do I capitalize on this opportunity???

The Critic
07-27-2006, 01:25 PM
Hey all,

I have been writing for a few years. I have written one screenplay, several treatments/outlines for others, two unscripted non fiction shows treatments (which I am shopping) and have been writing a series of "lessons learned" essays I would like to combine for a book.

My mentor, a 3x published author and former LA publicist, has invited me to her LA book launch for a book she co-authored with an A-list celebrity. The book consists of stories from him and his other A-List celebrity friends. Proceeds will go to charity.

This party is a huge opportunity for me and I need to know the do's and dont's for softly pitching my work. As you know there will be publishers, editors, agents and the celebs themselves.

My mentor believes my essay series has a lot of potential and thought I would get a lot out of being at this party.

I need some real advise about making the write;-) impression. This party could change this Colorado Girls life. Please help me not make an ass out of myself.

Any advise would be great.

The Critic

Hamboogul
07-27-2006, 01:48 PM
Ask your mentor before the party that you'd like introductions to friends and industry folks who might/can help you.

Wear a hip outfit that reveals your best assets.

Enjoy the party. Have fun. People want to be around fun people.

jimjimgrande
07-27-2006, 02:38 PM
I need some real advise about making the write;-) impression.

My advice to you would be to avoid any and all puns.

And as Ham says, look hot and have a good time.

The Critic
07-27-2006, 02:52 PM
As soon as I pressed send I knew I would get **** over that cutesy comment.

BROUGHCUT
07-27-2006, 02:54 PM
do people want to be around writers at parties? (serious question, lol).

this is just an idea... I encourage people to shoot it down in flames....