PDA

View Full Version : New Member, Please help!

Scoretzoff
08-11-2006, 04:00 AM
Hello, my name is Serge Scoretzoff. I am 26 years old. I am new to this business and am currently working on my first movie screenplay. Can anyone please tell me what I can do at such an early stage to increase my chances of achieving positive results in my endeavors. Should i just focus on writing or should i already think about agents, management comps, and connections. I am not starting from zero. When I was younger i've read several scripts and have always wanted to write movies. It's only recently that i am able to dedicate time and resources to commit to this seriously. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks very much!!!!

doubler83
08-11-2006, 04:22 AM
Hi Serge,

Firstly, welcome to the board.

Take some time to look around the various areas of the site. This place is a wealth of information and you'll probably find anything you need if you spend some time looking around.

I'll let others with more experience in the business advise you on what to do to further yourself through the life of a screenwriter. But, if I could offer any advice, it would be to just WRITE. Write, write, write. And then write some more.

Good luck!!

Fortean
08-11-2006, 04:26 AM
Concentrate on your writing, (rather than marketing your screenplay, at least until you've got a good one, or two, ready). If you're ready for some criticism, you might consider posting a few pages at the "Script Pages" forum.

Scoretzoff
08-11-2006, 04:50 AM
Thanks very much for the welcome. Just a follow-up question. Am i ok as far as age goes? :) am i getting into this at the right time or on the late side?
Thanks

odriftwood
08-11-2006, 03:21 PM
Am i ok as far as age goes? :) am i getting into this at the right time or on the late side?

Actually you just missed the cut off but because you're so polite, we'll let you in... just don't tell any of your friends.;)

DMNY
08-11-2006, 03:29 PM