PDA

View Full Version : Best Way to Use Connections to Break In?

jojofromsoflo
12-11-2006, 01:09 PM
Hey everybody. Here is my situation:

I graduated from USC's Screenwriting program in May. I took a full-time, non-industry job. Shortly thereafter, I was offered a position as a reader for an A-list director (who is also an accomplished screenwriter and producer). I couldn't take the job because of my commitment to the job I already had, so I offered to work for him from home on a part-time basis, for no pay. He agreed.

So I've been working for him since late August, and he's been very impressed with my performance thus far. Ultimately I hope that my hard work for him will lead to some sort of benefit in my goal of becoming a working screenwriter, so I was wondering how and when to take action. Of all the scripts I've written, I have only three feature scripts that I feel good enough about to show people (I hold myself to relati vely high standards), and only one that even closely matches this director's genre and style. I write mainly comedy, and he has done nothing but drama, although he claims that he is interested in some day directing a comedy.

I was thinking of asking him to read the one script I have that I think he would like, but I don't want to "blow it," especially as I've only been working for him for 4 months.

Any adivce would be appreciated. Thanks, everybody.

phatgirl
12-11-2006, 01:23 PM
I've only been working for him for 4 months.
For free? Wow, you're really nice.

I recently went to a workshop given by a well-known writer/director. It was for 4 hours. Afterwards I sent him an email, thanked him for the workshop and asked him to read my script. He said yes.

I say ask away.

Bellabell
12-11-2006, 01:27 PM