PDA

View Full Version : I'm coming to LA!

Liveveryday
01-03-2007, 01:40 PM
Hello Everyone,

I've just spent several hours reading dozens of articles. There's so much great advice here - and I need some too!

In brief, I'm a UK based writer coming out to LA for three weeks in March.

I'm bringing four treatments at various stages of development.

My plan, thus far, is to call producers/companies in advance (after a lot of web research), find interest, send the treatment over if they request it, then meet up to pitch in person and secure a deal/interest?

But what can I seriously expect?

As a new writer (I have one script under option in the UK) I'm not expecting immediate cash, but could I expect some form of agreement or contract from a producer/company - maybe a committment to see a script or even sign an option on the treatment?

Also to maximise my time in LA, I'll be following up with a few days in Cannes as I know most of LA descends on the resort.

I feel this is a decent strategy so far, but there's so much I don't know.

I've heard people say that as a new writer I have to have a script, but then again I've heard people suggest coming over with a slate of projects/treatments and running with those that get the interest. That's the way I'm heading so far.

There's been a lot of talk about managers vs agents too. At the moment it seems to me that an agent is best, as they do the deal. I know I'd be one of their small fries, but I'm more than happy to make all the calls etc the manager might do.

Okay. That's me for now.

Any ideas, pointers, suggestions would be of massive help.

Oh... and a Happy New Year.

Thanks in advance.

ylekot43
01-03-2007, 01:46 PM