PDA

View Full Version : Confirm Delivery or Not?

meemee2000
06-30-2004, 07:54 PM
I'm new to sending scripts to producers. (One finally said yes to my query letter!) Is it okay for me to send the script certified mail or with signature confirmation (which would required the producer to sign showing he/she received it) or is that a bad idea?

I don't want the producer getting mad at me, thinking I'm one of those paranoid writers 8o but I also want confirmation/proof that the right person received it.

Got any advice for the rookie?

Cole Blackburn
07-01-2004, 05:44 AM
Sending a producer a script he has to sign for doesn't exactly get you off on the right foot. Luckily, you don't have to.
You can send your script by way of the Post Office using Priority Mail and Delivery Confirmation. The postman signs a slip of paper when he delivers the script and the producer doesn't have to sign anything. Plus, you can track the package with the Delivery Confirmation number. This way you don't ever have to deal with the trust issue. I also believe you can send it Express Mail or Fedex and not require a signature. But for my money, Delivery Confirmation is the hot ticket.
Cole

gman8343
07-01-2004, 09:01 AM
Good info from Cole.

AvenueD
07-01-2004, 09:09 AM
ditto that.

Plus, if you buy the postage online at the usps website, delivery confirmation is free AND you can drop your script in a mailbox instead of waiting in line at the post office.

Geez I sound like an ad, don't I?

JakeSchuster aka Ostroff
07-02-2004, 09:15 AM
Coles' advice is excellent. You'll know the time of arrival, as well. And it only costs something like 45ยข.

By the way, downloading postage works how? You print out a slip and tape it on?

AvenueD
07-02-2004, 09:32 AM
You print a label with postage. You can print it on a sheet of plain paper and tape it securely, or buy labels for your printer.

I use plain paper.