PDA

View Full Version : Need some advice on meetings...

Terrance Mulloy
10-08-2009, 11:49 PM
I know that a big part of being a successful screenwriter these days - is having the ability to convey your ideas in a clear, engaging and concise way. Be it to your reps, producers, or anyone else who thinks you're worthy enough to call into a room. In other words, being good in a room, and pitching your ideas is all part of the game. I get that.

Unfortunately, and I know I'm not alone here, this is my weakest attribute. I have a hard time talking about myself and my projects some times.

Does anyone have any tips on 'meet and greets', as well as pitching in a room. Yeah, I know it pays to be you, and don't try too hard, etc - but I've never done this before, so I'm still a little wet behind the ears.

Any advice on pitching would be greatly appreciated.

Also - I think it's a good idea to get some business card printed, and maybe take a thumb drive in, just in case. But would it be a good idea to just take one sheet of paper along, with some logs and ideas typed out. Something I can refer to when I'm talking about ideas - or would this look unprofessional?

-XL-
10-09-2009, 01:04 AM
I've been in the pub for 7 hours. If I'm less clear than usual (and I'm usually pretty sh!te) that's why.

Being good in a room is as important as you think. Meet and greets are pretty standard -- they're basically a first date. You pretend to be more attractive, more interesting, smarter, and funnier than you actually are. I was born with the bullsh!t gene so it comes a little easier to me. I've posted this before, elsewhere, but I thought it might help:

Execs here have the general down to an art form. There's a formula to them, and while they don't always follow the exact same path they all hit the same beats:

I really liked/loved (your script).
So tell me about yourself.
How'd you get into writing? (How long have you been doing it? Why? Blah blah.)
What made you write (your script).