PDA

View Full Version : Story concept credit

streaker12345
10-12-2009, 01:58 PM
I have a company reading a script and they seem very interested. I had a phone conversation and the person told me he loves the idea but not script. He wants to have his writers rewrite the script. He said we'll get story credit. If optioned or sold what type of payment should I be expecting from this? Thanks.

beejay
10-12-2009, 04:39 PM
how reputable is the company?

did you go over what changes they will make, and why they think your script is not up to par?

what are there plans with it -- first-look deal, star attachment, etc.

the fact that they are giving you this option bodes well for their credibility, but the odds are still long
that it will sell given the current stats of scripts that are going wide.

Alliebro
10-12-2009, 06:47 PM
I'm a newbie and ask what value to a screenwriters career would a *story by* credit be? The OP says they liked his story but not his script. Would others, producers, say, find his credit there of value or, possibly, signify he doesn't have what it takes as a screenwriter. Good story teller, though. Anybody can be a story teller. It takes much more to be a screenwriter.

He got some interest in his script. That's a good thing. Might it not be more advantagious to take another look at the script, another polishing, and maybe submitting it elsewhere? Rather than settling for a much lesser credit?

Alliebro
10-12-2009, 07:09 PM
To add to my reply above. I am aware that a script may be sold and further extensive revision by other writers results in that minor credit is allotted to the original writer due to such revision. But, at least it was a script sold, not merely a story sold.

If the OP gets his script sold, even knowing he will only get *story by* credit, then I'd assume it will be a full credit for him and a requirement to join the WGA union soon after.

Hopefully, he gets WGA min payment, at least, for his script, up front.

streaker12345