PDA

View Full Version : What to do about this free-option "offer"?

flipper
03-04-2010, 03:59 AM
I write magazine articles for a living and a BIG L.A. agency recently expressed interest in an old story of mine for a client of theirs who was about to get a BIG production deal at a BIG studio.

This is what the agent proposed on behalf of his client: a 6-month free option with a 6-month renewal built in if they get a BIG attachment.

I do not have an agent.

So, what would you do? Believe me, no one else is interested in the article, so it's not like I'd be giving anything up by handing over a free option.

OTOH, maybe this is just an opening bid.

OTOH, I really doubt it is just an opening bid. And that being the case, I'm inclined NOT to give them anything for free, just based on principle and the notion that only real money on the table incentivizes anyone to get off their ass and do something.

Or I could tell them to go find an attachment, then come back to me, and that in the meantime I would give them right of first refusal should someone else express interest in the story (not likely! it's 15-20 yrs old!).

Or should I try to scare up some junior junior agent somewhere to do my thinking for me?

I dunno. Part of me just wants to tell these folks to take their no-money offer and go away. But maybe that's cutting off my nose to spite my, etc etc.

What would you do?

Thanks!!!!

jimjimgrande
03-04-2010, 07:08 AM
Since you don't know whether it's the client who's actually interested in your article or if the agent is just looking to package it on his own, I'd politely tell them you'd need to see money up front or they're welcome to come back when they have a specific element they're looking to attach.

The client probably has a bunch of other projects he's looking at and there's no reason for you to give away your material unless you know for sure that he/she is passionate about making something out of your article.