PDA

View Full Version : How can you tell the financier is the real thing?

Ulysses
03-08-2010, 06:21 PM
Lots of people pretend to be producers.

We can check up on their track record. That's not too hard.

Looks like like pretenders upped their game.

Let's call it "I'm a producer II" (available for X-Box, Playstation, and real Hollywood).

They don't say they are producers. They say they are financiers.

Has the nice ring of money to it without the necessity of being actually rich. Financiers, after all, deal with other people's money.

I came across threads regarding this several times on this forum. The latest one is here in the business section, and it's called "Attaching Talent"

This is much harder to check up on. There are no track records for financiers.

So my question to the more experienced here:

1. What are the signs that this financier is the real thing.

2. What sends your bull$hit-o-meter over the red mark?

DavidK
03-08-2010, 07:10 PM
Let's call it "I'm a producer II" (available for X-Box, Playstation, and real Hollywood).

They don't say they are producers. They say they are financiers.

In the real world of producing it's okay to ask pertinent questions to people who claim to be financiers, and real financiers are quite happy for you to ask them and they have answers that can be verified. You say that financiers deal with other people's money, but that is not always the case and even when it is the financier has the authority to spend that money. So your first question should be along the lines, are you a broker or principal? If they say 'broker', that's alert number one. Anyone can bullsh!t as a broker for some mysterious source of funds. Maybe his girlfriend's uncle had a good day at the track.