PDA

View Full Version : TV Writing in NYC.

MattStraq
07-29-2010, 03:34 PM
Hey all. My name is Matt. I'm an Aquarius who enjoys long walks on the beach and isn't afraid to share his feelings. After a few months lurking, I think I'm about ready to ask my first question.

I'm an aspiring TV writer who lives and works in NYC. I've read "Crafty TV Writing" and all of Jane Espensen's blog. I've written two great specs and an original pilot. I've entered a couple of contests, and am awaiting the results.

Now what?

Ok, that's probably too open ended. Better questions would be what shows, especially comedies, are written in NYC? 30 Rock, SNL, Letterman, Colbert, The Daily Show ... what am I forgetting?

Next, is anyone willing to share contact info for TV agents or managers on my coast? I'm sort of starting from square one out here, and don't know where I should aim my queries..

Thanks so much in advance. As one of the great television luminaries of our times, Liz Lemon, always says: "I want to go to there."

JeffLowell
07-29-2010, 07:22 PM
I wrote on a sitcom that shot in NY for 2 years. Even though the staff all lived there, all of our agents were in L.A., and we were all hired out of L.A. That's not uncommon - 95% of the jobs are in L.A., so that's where all the writers and reps are. That's really the path to TV - if you just chase NY shows and agents, you're making it much harder on yourself.

Madbandit
07-30-2010, 08:09 AM
I wrote on a sitcom that shot in NY for 2 years. Even though the staff all lived there, all of our agents were in L.A., and we were all hired out of L.A. That's not uncommon - 95% of the jobs are in L.A., so that's where all the writers and reps are. That's really the path to TV - if you just chase NY shows and agents, you're making it much harder on yourself.

If the OP's a college student, he could try to get an intership with any of the shows he mentioned.

MattStraq
07-30-2010, 09:11 AM
Thanks for the responses so far.