PDA

View Full Version : Jumping into the water finally!

javan
01-31-2011, 10:37 AM
Hi guys.

Keeping this simple... I've been writing for close to 4 years now. I'm 21 and knew exactly my freshman year in high school what I wanted to do with the rest of my life and how to approach it... like most of you on here-- write, then write/direct :)

The point of the story -- I've finally decided to move from the Bay Area to LA (probably somewhere in Studio City, Sherman Oaks, or Valley Village).

I'll be writing everyday (like now) and first looking into temping anywhere with film. Never giving up and ready for the rejections and "NO's" and all that... because there's nothing else I'd rather be doing than telling stories.

My question to all you veterans of the city out there:
What advice do you have for me?

Thanks!

NikeeGoddess
01-31-2011, 10:42 AM
ha! basically, just read every thread of interest in this forum. then come back with specific questions. there's even a large thread about "where to live in LALA Land".

javan
01-31-2011, 10:54 AM
I've been doing so and I'm definitely ready..

I suppose my specific questions are:

(1) I might be living in a single or sharing an apartment in either of the 3 aforementioned cities... what's a writer's circle in the area you guy's recommend?

(2) I have both a Honda CRV and motorcycle (cruiser)... which one do you recommend to have in LA? I feel like I could skip the nightmare of traffic with my bike, but then again, it's a car..

(3) I'm going to be pretty conservative with my budget, not going to go out to anything expensive (clubs, places like that)... mainly going to attend free screenings, meet and greets, walk around, maybe throw down for a Kevin Smith Q&A.. but that's about it... any volunteer work around town related to film that would keep me busy and not bored out of my mind?

(4) What is one general piece of advice you'd tell to that guy moving to LA?

BattleDolphinZero
01-31-2011, 10:55 AM