PDA

View Full Version : Craig Mazin on the WGA Survey

UglyShirts
07-27-2012, 11:15 AM
Here's an article with a link to the audio file of the recent interview Mr. Mazin gave on the WGA Survey.

As with every bit of wisdom he drops, it is MORE than worth checking out:

Craig Mazin Explains How the Screenwriting Industry Got So Depressing. (http://www.filmschoolrejects.com/features/wga-survey-craig-mazin-explains-how-the-screenwriting-industry-got-so-depressing.php)

corduroy
07-27-2012, 02:48 PM
That is a great interview that really lays out the problems facing screenwriters right now. Craig Mazin uses his mild grouchiness for good!

Craig Mazin
07-29-2012, 11:05 AM
Even that comes off as grouchy?

Huh. Have to recalibrate my sense of self-grouchiness.

Concord
07-29-2012, 11:57 AM
Craig, I didn't think you came off as grouchy. I thought you were reasoned, measured, sensible.

If you'd been grouchy, you would have taken the opportunity to complain about late payments.

As a newbie here, I found it very interesting. And the current business practices of the majors give me yet another reason to think indie production and distribution is the way to go.

Quick question for anyone, apologies if it veers off topic: It's easy to see how indie productions can be distributed on the web. Is there currently a business model for getting indie films into a large number of theaters? (That is, more than just an art house here and a four-wall rental there?)

JeffLowell
07-29-2012, 12:06 PM
And the current business practices of the majors give me yet another reason to think indie production and distribution is the way to go.

If you think WGA signatories treat writers badly...

Craig Mazin
07-29-2012, 01:00 PM
Yeah, sorry to burst your bubble, but the studios are waaaaaay better about this stuff than indies.

Colin Holmes
07-29-2012, 01:01 PM
Psssst guys, it's not just screenwriting.