PDA

View Full Version : How Can I Sell My Reality Series?

realitygen
09-30-2012, 12:06 PM
I wrote ten episodes of a reality TV series, and can write more; the concept has legs and can keep going indefinitely. I am not experienced in the TV industry and I wrote the episodes in narrative form, without a video or script. I copyrighted them, I also prepared a pitch bible and registered that with the WGAW. I am trying to sell what I have done or make some kind of deal to get it made into a reality series. I don't really know who to contact or how to start. I contacted a couple of TV production companies and one said they would (probably) make a sizzle reel of it if I would pay half of the likely cost of $100k. Is this customary? Or --perhaps I should ask -- is this inevitable? I know it is very difficult to even get the right people to hear your idea/see your pitch if you do not have a connection or advocate in the industry and I don't. Any suggestions as to what I should do would be greatly appreciated. What entities should I be trying to contact? Agents, networks, more production companies? I know they don't take unsolicited pitches; it did not take long to find that out.

emily blake
09-30-2012, 12:25 PM
You may want to read this thread:

http://messageboard.donedealpro.com/boards/showthread.php?t=68521

realitygen
09-30-2012, 12:33 PM
Thank you very much, Emily. That is what I thought. I wouldn't do it.

But what should I do, as I am starting off without contacts in the reality TV industry? Or a video, or sizzle reel?

realitygen
09-30-2012, 02:44 PM
A poster called creativexec had some advice for a person with a somewhat similar inquiry.

I am familiar with hard work and business but lack experience and contacts in the TV industry. This is the first work I have created for TV and I believe it would be the most popular buy-and-sell reality show.