PDA

View Full Version : You're the Producer...

WriterManJimbo
08-13-2013, 07:05 PM
you're handed a script with a lead role with a hot 'rebel without a cause' style High School kid.

Who do you cast? Is there a male 18-25 that can open a medium budget thriller?

And how about the love interest?

I'm guessing there's some Twilight or Hunger Gamer? But don't know those worlds/actors very well.

(subtext -- I'm worried I may have written a script that is very difficult to cast)

EdFury
08-13-2013, 07:11 PM
you're handed a script with a lead role with a hot 'rebel without a cause' style High School kid.

Who do you cast? Is there a male 18-25 that can open a medium budget thriller?

And how about the love interest?

I'm guessing there's some Twilight or Hunger Gamer? But don't know those worlds/actors very well.

(subtext -- I'm worried I may have written a script that is very difficult to cast)

If I'm a producer? I delegate. I hire a great casting director and let them do their job. Find great choices for the roles. As a writer, you can't worry about it. Write the best script you can. If it's a GREAT script, actors will line up to do it.

WriterManJimbo
08-13-2013, 07:41 PM
If I'm a producer? I delegate. I hire a great casting director and let them do their job. Find great choices for the roles. As a writer, you can't worry about it. Write the best script you can. If it's a GREAT script, actors will line up to do it.

Truth be told...it's too late. Script is written. But what I'm trying to do is prepare myself for the question I am often asked -- 'who do you see starring in it?'

Johnny Depp in 1989 probably isn't a good answer!

jtwg50
08-13-2013, 07:43 PM