Done Deal Pro Forums

Done Deal Pro Forums (http://messageboard.donedealpro.com/boards/index.php)
-   Producers, Production Companies, Studios & Networks (http://messageboard.donedealpro.com/boards/forumdisplay.php?f=12)
-   -   Produced Pilot - need some suggestions on what to do (http://messageboard.donedealpro.com/boards/showthread.php?t=79661)

avaslov2 08-06-2015 10:55 AM

Produced Pilot - need some suggestions on what to do

Hello everyone,

I hope this is the right thread to post this on.

I'm new to the industry a little over year. I know a lot of you guys know the industry and are knowledgeable. I also know that very rarely do TV shows, pilots, productions, any of this make it and go anywhere. Since I have a pilot now, I might as well try my best to get it out there the best I can.

I am in Atlanta and about eight months ago I wrote a script that (I was doing some BG work), I got a guy to do a sizzle reel. I was actually just looking more for a reel. Anyway, it caught on and many people in Atlanta liked the vibe.

A director was wanting to work with me. So I came on as executive producer (something I had no clue about)... Investors came in on the production and we were able to cut a first scene. Eventually we were able to film a very high-quality pilot. It is going to be released in a couple of weeks. We are also working on a new trailer.

Now, here is the thing, I promised the actors (reels and SAG), crew (we paid), director, investors (well them a tiny percentage of the show if it gets picked up), which if goes nowhere, then it is nothing. That's it. No network pick-up or anything. So if I just sell the concept of script I okay too.

They all believed that this is something that could get picked up. I always told them that it could be possible. I am not one to ever promise something I cannot deliver on. Again, I want to be realistic.