Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Introduction - Advice Appreciated

Hey all. Great to be a part of this board. I'm certain I'm going to learn a lot here. I was hoping I can pick some of your minds.

A bit about me. I'm 27. I'm from Detroit. I majored in English. For money, I write personal statements for people. Mostly med, law, phd students, and ppl going into residency and fellowships. It's a pretty cool job in that you get to ask strangers anything about their lives while interviewing them. No filters. No shields. It's all transparent, and has to be (if you want to get into somewhere elite). And you get to hear some crazy stories. I've been doing this for about 8 years now, and in that 8 years, I've also been writing screenplays.

I've always been the type of guy who would get all A's. I have always been a good writer with a vivid imagination. And at the same time, I have always been directionless. I always struggle to make tough life decisions. Out of H.S., I chose to go to a local university in Detroit on a full ride instead of pursuing an Ivy League offer. I had a job for the CIA out of college and I rejected it. I always seem to make the wrong decisions.

There's been so much pressure on me my whole life, and I feel like it's a curse. People laugh at me for what I do. I thought why work for a company when I can make double doing this. My dad is ashamed at my job -- he says I'm helping people cheat and it's unethical. He also disapproves of my writing career, and says I should have been a doctor or a lawyer. He's embarrassed by me, and I'm embarrassed by myself. I feel like I've lost my confidence. But I still believe in what I'm doing, for some reason. I want to get up and just move to L.A. and leave this negative world, and I can't seem to do it.