Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question for the pro screenwriters and industry pros

I know this question has been asked a few times before, but I couldn't find any threads dealing with it in the FAQ section, so I figured I'd start a fresh one here. Perhaps this one is destined for FAQ!

So, here goes (actually, two related q's):

What are some of the major areas, craft-wise, where there is a consistent disparity between aspiring screenwriters (with potential) and professional screenwriters? What common mistakes do aspiring screenwriters make that pros have transcended?

I'm not a Pro but IMHO the most basic and consistent misstep made by a newbie is the selection of a story that has little to zero spec market value. Understanding the business and knowing what sells and what doesn't is the essential cornerstone of any successful spec writer.

Newbies write what interests them.

Pros write what interest them and the market.

It's not a choice between commercial or passion. It's about developing a commercial sensibility and creating a story that is commercial and you feel passionate about.

If you are the kind of writer who can not ever find passion for commercial material, you should think seriously about if screenplay writing is right for you.

My 2 cents.

Comment

Good Scripts/Bad Scripts

Opinions are all my own:

1) Bland idea. Nobody would ever want to pay $ to see this movie. When I do one of these pitch clinics the main problem with the stories being pitched is either that they are boring, or on rare occasions soul-less commercial crap. You need a story that you are passionate about that a whole bunch of people will want to see (as an escape from their boring lives).