Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Coverage. What am I up against?

I apologize in advance for the length of this post.

I recently had a friend submit a TV script to a top exec at an important management firm. He does business with him on other matters. My friend was 99% sure the script would have to pass their reader's coverage before the exec would read it. I'm okay with that. I've had nothing but terrific feedback from the people who have read it so far. I don't have representation yet, and as a novice writer I'll take whatever help I can get. This was the first submit to a rep.

A little background first. The script is structured as a mini-series. I've written parts 1&2 and outlined the other 5 parts. Anyway, my friend sends over Part One, along with the info about the other parts and outline.

He calls me the other day and reads the email he received from the exec. It's written in the style of coverage. They love the characters, the dialogue, the setting, etc. But it's a pass...because this reader felt the story ended too abruptly, and there were too many subplots.

I'm thinking to myself, doesn't the reader know what's on the title page? Mini Series PART ONE!! Should I have written on the last page, "To be continued?" If this isn't just their way of taking a pass (which is always possible), what must I do to ensure a reader uses his/her deductive reasoning? Because it sounds like that's the reason I got the pass. The reader thought this was the whole story.

What to do in the future to prevent this, and what can I to do to salvage the pass?
    Again, for those who have read my venting, I say thanx.

Re: Coverage. What am I up against?

Originally posted by 5townsguy View Post
    This was the first submit to a rep.
    Don't be impatient. Patience and fortitude is your friend.

The script is structured as a mini-series.