Click here for Done Deal Pro home page

Done Deal Pro Home Page

Go Back   Done Deal Pro Forums > Business > Producers, Production Companies, Studios & Networks
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 11-07-2013, 02:02 PM   #1
Sleepydude
New User

Default Bizarre resubmission situation with Circle of Confusion

Hi all,

I sent out nearly 100 cold queries a few months ago for my screenplay, after carefully researching the best places to send it. Being a complete newb, I didn't realize 80% of the emails would bounce back with unsolicited submission legalese. I received exactly one request for a read, from Circle of Confusion, who I was quite excited about.

Then this happened: After emailing them my screenplay, I follow up with a call at exactly the six-week mark. I've only got 10 min away from work so I walk to a nearby park. During the call sirens start going off while I'm talking to the COC office manager. Suddenly it's incredibly noisy everywhere. For those of you who know Chicago, it turned out to be one of the few times a year they raise the downtown bridges to accomodate sailboats. I go on to spend among the most excruciating 5 min of my life trying to communicate with an increasingly frustrated gatekeeper on the other end of the phone. I keep misunderstanding what she is saying and she can't hear me either and I just end up apologizing profusely until she hangs up. I felt horrible about it. I try to call back later but she is "out of the office." I follow up with an apologetic email, to which I get no response. Within 24 hours I receive the dreaded form rejection email.