Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Semifinalist - Worthy Querying?

Question I'm hoping some veterans (or more veteran than me at least) can help answer. This past year I had a tv spec script that was a semifinalist at both Austin and Final Draft Big Break. Is it worth sending query letters to agents/managers regarding this?

I only ask because the consensus via the panels at Austin seemed to be that managers and agents NEVER respond to queries. Seriously. Basically everyone said "don't find us, we'll find you." Seemed a bit odd to me, especially since I'm not an actor which seems to put me at a serious disadvantage. I know this makes me sound cheap but if no one gets meetings via queries - why waste the $$$ on postage? Hey I'm a true writer - broke!

In the meantime I'm still writing new pilots/specs but would love a shot at getting a rep for staffing season. Thanks in advance.

Re: Semifinalist - Worthy Querying?

Listen, in my experience "don't find us, we'll find you" is kind of bullshit. Be proactive. You can save yourself time by putting yourself out there. If you don't enter contests, if you don't query, you don't go out and make friends no one will ever read you.

In my opinion, YES, query with your semi finalists scripts -- especially if you had one place in multiple contests.
    Twitter @CameronAlxander

Comment