Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The Ethics of Reading

I am an amateur screenwriter trying the break in to the business. I possess and read in-development scripts. I do so for purely auto-didactic purposes. I do not pass scripts on to others. I do not keep the scripts I read.

I know that there are several members on this board feel strongly that what I am doing is wrong and I am open to their views. I am seeking to initiate a civil discussion with those who feel what I am doing is unethical. I hope that others will consider my views below with the same open-mindedness.

There are two reasons for this post. One, I've noticed that a number of people on this forum and Twitter have recently decried the practice mentioned above, while subsequently subtly admitting to participating in this very practice themselves (I refuse to believe that all those who have read Hidden or Pacific Rim or Passengers were directly involved in those projects).

Two, the goalposts have recently shifted from the ethics of public reviewing (Scriptshadow) to private reading. While I was initially skeptical of the damage a negative review on a minor website could do to a film's development process (you truly have to wonder about the spinal fortitude of an exec scared by the poorly-informed and inconsistent views of an anonymous blogger). Nevertheless, I completely agree that a number of practices engaged in by that particular website are highly questionable and unethical.

It appears that the primary argument for not reading in-development material is that these days plenty of studios release screenplays following the theatrical release of a film. While I do often read this material I believe this is deficient for a number of reasons: