Click here for Done Deal Pro home page

Done Deal Pro Home Page

Go Back   Done Deal Pro Forums > Business > Producers, Production Companies, Studios & Networks
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 03-13-2017, 11:35 PM   #1
BrickFlare
New User

Default What if a producer/studio likes your concept, but doesn't like the script...??

Alright, so, this might be a long post, and I'm new to all of this, so please bare with me. God bless you if you stick through this sob story. So, a while back I sent in this screenplay to a contest website for a short. Now, I did this on a whim because I had an idea for a story that I believed in, I thought it'd make a good story, and although my experience with screenwriting is limited to nonexistent, I told myself, "Hey, why not?"

So, I write up this screenplay, and I send into this contest, right? But then I realize I'm absolutely not hot on this screenplay at all. I don't think it's good, and I'm not saying this to be modest, I just really, REALLY didn't think it was good(I'm very new at this, in my infantile stages), so I ended up withdrawing the screenplay from the contest. And also, the deadline to this contest was so quick that even if I somehow, by some miracle, edited that thing to perfection, no way I would've made that deadline.

The PROBLEM here is that, apparently, someone in this contest strongly hinted that they liked the concept of this particular screenplay and would've/might still like to see it. Cool, right? But I'm pretty sure, if it doesn't flat out SUCK, it's barely decent, and I ain't confident in sending it in.

And this all brings me to my latest question. If someone, a studio, an agent, an exec, a judge, whomever, thinks that the concept of a script has potential, but the script itself sucks, how likely is it that they might steal that concept and do something with it themselves? How worried should I be about this?