Click here for Done Deal Pro home page

Done Deal Pro Home Page

Go Back   Done Deal Pro Forums > Business > Producers, Production Companies, Studios & Networks
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 07-12-2012, 01:59 AM   #1
GaryG
New User

Default What does this response mean?

I sent a query to a producer and received an answer saying "I'd be happy to read your screenplay if you have your agent/manager contact me" (I don't currently have an agent/manager).

I get the impression that this is probably just a polite way of saying no, particularly since he said "I'd be happy to" rather than "I'd like to", but does anyone else have an opinion on this? Could he be genuinely interested? Thanks.
GaryG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 06:00 AM   #2
SundownInRetreat

Default Re: What does this response mean?

I've no experience in this (yet) but it reads like he's willing to read if you have a manager (ie: you're not an off-the-street hopeful). In other words, it's a form of vetting. Don't get hung up on "happy" instead of "like" - it'll be read providing you have a manager. So I think it's a 'no' only if you don't have a manager.

I gotta let you go...

'Cause now you've got to fly
(Fly high)
Fly to the angels
Heaven awaits your heart
And flowers bloom in your name

Last edited by SundownInRetreat : 07-12-2012 at 07:35 AM.
SundownInRetreat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 07:09 AM   #3
-XL-

It's a polite way of saying no. Don't worry about it. Move on to the next.
-XL- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 07:42 AM   #4
gridlock'd

More specifically, I think it's a polite way of saying they don't accept unsolicited material.
You need to be repped before he'll read. Like Sundown said, it's a form of vetting.
gridlock'd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 10:45 AM   #5
SoCalScribe

Quote:
Originally Posted by GaryG View Post