Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Opening scene

Rank beginner here. I'm telling the story of two couples juxtaposed against the events of WWII. I'd like to open with the traditional B/W vintage scenes of the war, cutting to color scenes of the two couples. Let's suppose this is not too cliched (which it probably is!). A) Is there something equivalent to "stock footage" one can use of the war scenes? and B) are these opening scenes rightly only the director's to choose or can the scriptwriter present his vision? Thank you so much for any responses.

Re: Opening scene

Originally posted by wakupmagy View Post
    Rank beginner here. I'm telling the story of two couples juxtaposed against the events of WWII. I'd like to open with the traditional B/W vintage scenes of the war, cutting to color scenes of the two couples. Let's suppose this is not too cliched (which it probably is!). A) Is there something equivalent to "stock footage" one can use of the war scenes? and B) are these opening scenes rightly only the director's to choose or can the scriptwriter present his vision? Thank you so much for any responses.
    Especially in the first ten pages, backstory and "events" are less relevant that understanding who the characters themselves are. We'll get that it's WWII, what really matters is who this couple is and why we should care about them for another 90-mins or two hours.

Comment

A) yes, there is probably stock footage that you can use for the war scenes. select the ones that reflect the vision and tone for the story you want to tell. here's an example of one: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JrGfbSXQCeM google stock video footage of ww2.

B) no, the screenplay is your domain until it is not. eg until someone buys it. use everything in your toolbox to tell a compelling story. there is only one rule-- don't be boring.

good luck.
      FA4