Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• OK to specify vehicle make and model?

Before I include a specific make and model of vehicle in a screenplay, does anyone know if permission has to be obtained from (and/or payment made to) the manufacturer before a vehicle can feature in a movie?

(I would like to have the delightful A-10 Thunderbolt 'tankbuster' aircraft in my screenplay, but I'm concerned that it might be possible for the Northrop Grumman Corporation to prevent their product appearing in the movie.)
    Know this: I'm a lazy amateur, so trust not a word what I write.
    "The ugly can be beautiful. The pretty, never." ~ Oscar Wilde

Re: OK to specify vehicle make and model?

some people think it's presumptuous to mention a specific brand or song ect. on your screenplay, but go ahead man, if it helps picture what it is you are trying to accomplish then great.

At worst, if the script does get purchased, whoever purchased it is the one that needs to make that descision of dealing or not dealing with any licensing, and can/will change it if need-be.

Just because you put in a FORD mustang, does not mean they won't replace that for a Toyota corolla if that's what they see fit or if that's who they have a partnership with.

Just write what it is you see in your head, the rest will be up to them.
    "We're going to be rich!" - 1/2 hr COMEDY written/directed/edited by me, I also act in it.
    SUBTITLED
    Episode 1 (Beef pills)
    Episode 2 (African commercial)
    Episode 3 (Brenda's rescue)

Comment

Originally posted by Crayon View Post
      Before I include a specific make and model of vehicle in a screenplay, does anyone know if permission has to be obtained from (and/or payment made to) the manufacturer before a vehicle can feature in a movie?