Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Selling a spec pilot

My original spec pilot has been making the rounds and has attracted the attention of showrunners and networks. As I get closer to the holy grail of a sale, I'm faced with a bunch of questions:

I'm an unproduced writer with no clout. What type of credit can I hope for if the show were to sell and actually go to series? Would I be relegated to a simple writing credit for the pilot, or could I retain credit as one of the shows creators (or anything in between)? Or is the "creator" title generally wrested away from the lowly first-time writer and taken up by the showrunner?

Do writers in my position often negotiate for permanent jobs on the show? And if so, what position should I seek? Staff writer, some type of producer, consultant? I'm not sure what would be reasonable to ask for -- I wrote the script, but have no real experience in TV yet.

Thanks everyone,
    Ben

Re: Selling a spec pilot

You will be the creator. And will almost certainly be able to get some sort of producing credit. Maybe supervising or co-ep or even ep if there's enough demand. It's up to your agent/lawyer to negotiate other stuff, like if you want to write an episode or two, etc.

Just talk it out with your reps. That's what they're there for.

Best of luck!
    http://twitter.com/JohnSwetnam

Comment

The sale of original spec pilots by unknown writers is very rare so congrats on the progress you've made.

Could you be more specific as to what you mean by attention? Do you have a rep who has submitted your work to buyers? Obviously they would be able to answer questions about what a potential deal would look like.