Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Manager showing my first screenplay this week

I'm a comic book artist with two graphic novels in various stages in the film development process. One with Mosaic Media and one being shown round. Eight months ago the manager suggested I write a screenplay -- which I did -- and he went out with it this week to a half dozen contacts.
    Since I both write and draw my books he suggested some artwork for the screenplay. So my screenplay PDF has 8 concept pieces of art imbedded into the actual pages. I was hesitant because I've read numerous times to never include artwork in a script but manager insisted saying his contacts would love it. I think he's right -- it does look pretty sharp. I've never seen a script like it anywhere.
    The script is a big tentpole, big budget, franchise concept at manager's request since that's what's selling.
    I would expect to hear something on Monday the 10th or that week.
    Any comments or thoughts would be appreciated.

Re: Manager showing my first screenplay this week

In this situation, I think it's a fine idea to buck the "rules" and send out a script with artwork.

Those "rules" mostly exist for submitting to agents and managers anyway. That's when you want to look as professional as possible. But now, you're in a vague territory where your work is almost like pitching.

In any case, GOOD LUCK!

Comment

This sounds really interesting. Let us know how you make out and good luck, Raff!

Comment

How to you feel about the screenplay?

Comment

Originally posted by Farnsworth View Post
          How to you feel about the screenplay?
          I feel great about it. The structure is really good. 115 pages (without the artwork) First 10 pages are really exciting. Second act starts on page 28, third act starts on page 80. Good arc for the main protagonist. Lots of action. Lots of tender moments between hero and his wife. Great ending.