No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Limited series pilot

Hello friends!

I soft pitched an idea to a few producers and to my reps. The response was positive.

Since I am a Noob in the TV landscape I am trying to figure out the best way to tell my story. Of course I do not expect you guys to do it for me! But I do have a question about mini series [or limited series] and about the difference between a pilot for a limited series, and a pilot for an ongoing series.

My story is quite novelistic and it would be perfectly suited to a limited format. I don't have a myriad subplots or characters coming in and out of focus. In that sense it is more like The Night Of - with a clear beginning and end. There is room to expand beyond the first season by moving to a different city, but that remains to be seen pending interest in the show.

My questions are:

- what are the pros and cons of formatting the story as a limited series? Is it a harder sell?

- How does writing/structuring the pilot of a limited series differ to writing the pilot of a multi-seasonal show? In my mind a limited series is essentially a very layered, long-format movie- whereas a multi-seasonal show can often repeat itself or have a much more rigid structure. I guess I think of the pilots to a limited series as chapter 1 in a 10 chapter novel - am I right?

- when putting together a limited series, what would you tackle in terms of materials? The pilot script? A couple of pages with the idea and the main characters/episode breakdowns? I am facing the issue of whether to just jump in and write the pilot – which I'm sure would be a lot of fun and possibly a good thing for me since I have never written TV – and wondering if I might be better off writing a handful of pages with the idea, characters, and maybe pilot description, and seeing how that resonates with people beyond my soft pitch.