Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is this too desperate or stalker-ish?

The comedian that I had in mind for the main character when I wrote my new screenplay is coming to my town to perform stand-up. Is it too desperate or stalker-ish to approach him after the show to pitch my script to him?

I am torn. It is out of my comfort zone and feels kind of like an ambush to do such a thing, but on the other hand, it might be my only good shot to make a direct pitch.

If I did decide to play out this strategy, I was thinking of brief simple pitch, "I wrote a screenplay with you in mind. Here's my business card. Contact me if you would like to read it and I can email it to you.- Of course I would have a script on hand it he seems receptive to the idea and doesn't mind toting around a physical copy.

I am new to the business and I don't know the proper etiquette for direct pitches to talent. Any feedback would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Re: Is this too desperate or stalker-ish?

Please don't do that to them. Seriously. That isn't how this works, not because there are arbitrary rules, but because this kind of thing can make people really uncomfortable.

Comment

No, don't do that.

Do you think he goes on the road to be assaulted by screenwriters? No, he doesn't.

He's a professional. Treat him as such. Contact his reps and show him the respect he deserves.

two cents.
      "Arguing that you don't care about the right to privacy b/c you have nothing to hide is no different than saying you don't care about free speech because you have nothing to say." -- Edward Snowden

Comment

You have 1 post. I'm going to guess your project stinks. And I don't even mean to be a dick about it, just using facts. And combined with your question, I know it stinks. Let's pretend it doesn't suck, you somehow just found this place, have been successful, you just don't know the answer tot his question... still never do it.