Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I've shot a pilot - what now?

Recently I wrote a few episodes for a comedy show that I went ahead and shot in a studio with a professional team of cast and crew. I'm thrilled with the result.

I'm a writer without an agent, my decision to shoot the pilots was based on feedback from "people in the business" who suggested that I produce something rather than just lock myself in a room churning out pages and pages of scripts.

Worst case scenario, I'd love a job on an existing show, best case scenario I'd love someone (a network) to throw money at me and my show.

Should I approach a production company, a network, an agent?

Thanks
    Those who could benefit most from therapy can't afford it.

Re: I've shot a pilot - what now?

Congratulations! I think it's great to have your writing produced. I don't think being a staffed writer is a worst case scenario so much as no one seeing your work! Have you shown it to the "people in the business" who encouraged you to make it? Did they have any feedback?

In general, studios and networks like to develop the script and weigh in on pilot decisions because of the large investment involved. You could show your pilot to them as a calling card, but I think it's unrealistic to think the pilot will be bought after you made it. Maybe they would want to redevelop the idea, but from an unknown, it would have to be very well executed to begin with (let's assume it is but that you don't have network connections).