Click here for Done Deal Pro home page

Done Deal Pro Home Page

Go Back   Done Deal Pro Forums > Business > Producers, Production Companies, Studios & Networks
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 04-18-2005, 12:49 PM   #1
beagle72

Default Advice on my flower films experience?

Hi,

Less than a month ago I exchanged e-mails with a head partner of Flower Films. Naively inquired about pitching a script, was warmly turned over to another high-level individual. Was told, not surprisingly, they don't "usually" read unrepped writers. I am new to this business (but not new to writing for a living) and have not yet found a rep relationship.

However -- this person invited me to email a synopsis anyway "just in case." I did so and less than 30 minutes later received a reply that they "LOVED" (their caps) the synopsis and to get a hardcopy script to them "right away." There was some discomfort with my original title and this person began to suggest alternatives (which is fine with me -- I sent some more of my own).

This is my first bite with a producer (or anyone, for that matter) of note. I did as requested and forwarded the script. About 3 weeks have passed and of course one's imagination takes many adventures in the meantime.

Is there any rule of thumb while waiting? Is there an acceptable time frame for asking on a status report, or re-establishing a dialogue, or ... ?

Basically wondering what my next move should be, or more importantly, should NOT be.

And just for the record, in my few exchanges with these folks at flower so far they have been very cordial, warm, and helpful.

thanks,
Aaron
www.bordella.com
Old 04-18-2005, 01:02 PM   #2
noh1

I wouldn't sweat it. You can email a follow-up email, and not appear to pressy, if it's been three weeks. I checked out the website, and don't think it will be a big deal.
Old 04-18-2005, 01:07 PM   #3
MacG