X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The Screenplay Mechanic (EvilRbt)

(Updated May 2014)

While I’m more commonly known as the Screenplay Mechanic (or EvilRbt), my real name is Andrew Hilton. In the 90s, I studied film at the university level in the UK, New York and Los Angeles. During my final year of education, I began working at the studios, starting with Steven Spielberg’s Shoah Foundation, then segueing to a development job at Universal Pictures. Next, I worked at Silver Pictures (Warner Bros) for six months, before moving to Mario Kassar’s MK Productions, which had a two-year deal with Paramount. There, I worked as an Executive Assistant and Story Editor, and my job included training readers.

During this time, I fell into screenwriting and my first script landed me an agent and was quickly optioned. Later, when MK Productions’ deal with Paramount ended, I began reading freelance. For more than a decade, I read scripts primarily for New Regency Productions, but in the course of my entire career I've read for companies and producers at every single major studio.

Some writers insist that a reader must be produced to be legit, so here are my writing credentials thus far: I'm in the Writers Guild of Canada (WGC) and my first produced project was a thriller called FATAL TRUST. Lifetime Television bought the script before it went to market and they had me develop it into their style movie (less horror; more romance). Production followed very quickly and the MOW premiered to record ratings for Lifetime. I also have several credits as a producer. In 2012, I was a Co-Producer on BRAKE, a theatrical thriller starring Stephen Dorff. I also did an uncredited rewrite on the script. In 2013, I was a Co-EP on a feature-length motorcycle documentary, WHY WE RIDE.