This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A good script vs. a sellable script

Right. So. I am a writer, but I also work as an assistant in the industry, which has given me a taste of both sides of the coin. Namely, the process of writing coverage for incoming scripts.

I've gotta say, that a solid 75% of the scripts are of the quality where I wish I could stop reading after the 2nd page. Unfortunately, at least in the places I've worked, that's not really acceptable. So no matter how bad a script may be, I have to read the whole thing, then write a summary and notes on it. It's a miserable thing to have to do, over and over again. It absolutely does cause me to approach each new script with trepidation. And I can say with complete certainty that other readers deal with this too, and as such approach new scripts with more disdain and preconceived notions than they should. Because just on a probability basis, that new script is going to suck.

So the question then is, how do you counteract that?

First, start quickly. I don't mean the first ten pages. I mean, page one, scene one. Do it however you want. Have a character bleeding out in the backseat of a car, introducing some mysterious object, being chased by guys dressed like unicorns... just something, whatever it is. Otherwise, your script blends in like all the other crappy, boring scripts that cross our computer screens.

Secondly, be weird. It amazes me just how many scripts I've read that have zero original elements. The characters, the way the characters are introduced, the plot, the dialogue, the situations... everything feels like the script I had just read before it. If somebody told me there was one person writing all these scripts, I'd believe them.