Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Experiences from those who relocated to LA

Everyone knows that LA is the place to be for a career in screenwriting. I was hoping people who relocated to LA from elsewhere could share their personal experiences. I know everyone has a different path and story.

The more specifics, for example, where you came from, how much you saved, how old you were when you moved, if you moved with anyone, etc., would be extremely helpful. What has been like living in LA? Where did you get started when you got out there?

Also, I'm curious to how people have supported themselves while getting involved in the industry. Most entry-level things I see in NY are unpaid, full-time internships for a meal stipend, which obviously, most people don't have the luxury to take.

I'm a recent grad with a day job, obviously looking to move to LA in the near future. Right now, I'm just working on my writing and saving $$$$.

Thanks.

Re: Experiences from those who relocated to LA

I am also interested in hearing these stories. I have a job in the SF area with an office in downtown LA and have decided to transfer next Winter. Looking forward to it!
    www.JustinSloanAuthor.com

http://www.CreativeWritingCareer.com
    http://www.MilitaryVeteransinCreativeCareers.com

Twitter: @JustinMSloan

Want a free book?

Comment

i didn't do the typical just-out-of-college thing, so i don't know how applicable my experience is. i was an attorney on the east coast before moving here six years ago. i had a little bit of savings (four figures) to move my stuff, find a place, and get my feet on the ground.