Click here for Done Deal Pro home page

Done Deal Pro Home Page

Go Back   Done Deal Pro Forums > Business > Producers, Production Companies, Studios & Networks
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 10-24-2007, 12:57 PM   #1
grapeape
User

Default A great read for all writers about producers

I got this off of another board in response to a thread I posted there and people really liked it. I know I should have posted it on the "20 mill" thread here but it is such an excellent read that I felt it deserved it's own spot.

Here,

Producers...

It's interesting to be on both sides to some small degree.
I'm a writer who started as a performer and producer in TV. Moved to directing commercials/music videos/small infomercials and trying to set up a short script. When said short script got turned down (Bravo!) instead of doing a second short wrote a small feature to set up. Got it financed, shot it and am now courting distribution. Along the way I've become a 'Producer'. We're just optioning a small script this week that we hope will be our second picture. I hope to shoot in May 2008.
It seems to me that the writer and Producer can be coming from two totally different worlds, especially when the writer is 'new'.
The writer writes, it's a solitary, highly creative, inspired process. Typically though the writer has some source of income (small or large...) that sustains him/her during the writing process. Day job, residuals off their first project, something that keeps them in bread (or Kraft dinner) while they write. For me I was a TV producer/Pastor while working to break into writing/directing.

Once the writer breaks through to getting interest in their work (it's own struggle altogether) the dance begins. And they're dancing with a 'Producer'. How does the 'Producer' get paid?

By producing. But what?