No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Script dissatisfaction

Hi, I have so many screenplay ideas it hurts

I have worked on two recentely which didn't work out too well.

Trouble I have at the moment is I get into writing it but by the time I get to the end I feel what I have written is crap and not just issues that can be fixed but fundamentals which makes me wonder what I ever saw in it in the first place.

I'm a writer director and I'm working on my next feature script. I have a big hollywood agent sniffing around asking for material but I can't settle on an idea which I think is any good. I always feel they are dull at their core the truly great ones I've come up with will cost too much.

Has anyone else had these issues? I'm not sure wether my ideas arent that great or I'm simply not giving them enough of a chance, I should batter them much more.

Can anyone offer any words of comfort...sniff...

Re: Script dissatisfaction

EVERYBODY has those issues.

There are two good ways to get around it that I can think of:

1) Find a group of people you trust to bounce ideas off of throughout the process, people who are honest and know good writing.

2) Complete a thorough outline before starting your project so you can figure out the problems before you've wasted your time writing half a draft.
    Chicks Who Script podcast

Comment

big +1 on what Emily said. My outlines get longer and more detailed for each script I write, which is a good thing. The outline is the spine of the script and once that is solid, writing the script is the easy part.

That being said, I've yet to write a script that followed my outline 100%, and that's because I get too anxious to start writing before the outline is perfect. So, the current outline I'm working on is going to be _the one_. :-)

-MT
      If Lindsey Lohan has a child, and that child will lead...I will follow.

Comment

Originally posted by mtoomey View Post