X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Director attached to a script...

Hi, all.

Newbie here.

I just had a script make it to the semifinals in this year's Nicholl and it got a fair amount of interest. A director loved the script and has asked to be attached. My question is, is that a liability or an asset? He's got an amazing resume and I love his work, which is world-class, but he's not an A-list director (yet). Do I risk turning off any financing/purchase offers because of attached talent?

I think I'm going to love this forum!

Cheers!

-Charles

Re: Director attached to a script...

Originally posted by Adeimantus View Post
    Hi, all.

Newbie here.

I just had a script make it to the semifinals in this year's Nicholl and it got a fair amount of interest. A director loved the script and has asked to be attached. My question is, is that a liability or an asset? He's got an amazing resume and I love his work, which is world-class, but he's not an A-list director (yet). Do I risk turning off any financing/purchase offers because of attached talent?

I think I'm going to love this forum!

Cheers!

-Charles
    Does he want you to just attach him because he likes the script or does he want to pay you to option your script and try to get financing? BIG difference. In one case he's mostly dead weight. In the other, he's financially involved in making it happen. A good thing.

Comment

Hi, EdFury.

Thanks for the reply. It appears he just wants to be attached because he loves the script. I think you're right; I'll ask if he has a plan to help get financing and, if so, how and with whom. If not, I'll thank him for his interest and politely defer. It is nice to know that a talented director loves the story, which bodes well for the project.

-C

Comment

Hi, all.

Newbie here.

The reality of letting someone like this attach themselves is that it's a question of access to their resources.

Can he help you get the film made?